IW STi Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2,256 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I've been modding and tuning my cars for about 10 years now and while the automotive industry as a whole has made a ton of progress, I feel the tuning industry has lagged behind, big time. It seems we're stuck between chip (or canned flash) tuning and human-written dyno tunes and both have their drawbacks, particularly in cost and accessibility for the latter, and precision for the former.

I find myself considering what could be done with modern cloud and machine-learning technology. So I thought I would come to some of the potential users of such a product and get some thoughts before I decide whether or not to pursue.

What I'm envisioning is a cloud application that takes data about your car via logs, your mods, and conditions as an input then runs it through a model which would be constantly updated with data collected from your own car and every other car on the network based on their relevance/similarity to your own, in the simplest terms.

The major benefit of this would be, you could put a new intake and header on your car tomorrow and instead of scheduling a tune, you would just select the modifications you added or input some details about them (like MAF diameter for an intake) and the system would get as close to a base-tune as possible, then make real-time adjustments to the tune via OBDII until it got as close as possible to perfect, the same way a pro tuner would in person. If your ambient conditions change, the tune would adjust appropriately based on all of the mapped tunes, and so on. So the more cars on the network, the better the tunes become. I imagine there would have to be human tuners on call for circumstances when the network can't identify the cause of some unforeseen signals from sensors or hardware issues.