IW STi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
167 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,
Thought I would take a crack at answering why aftermarket BOV’s cause “problems” with stock cars etc. This picture was taken from Garrets turbo site and modified to show how stock turbo cars (most anyway) read air measurements. Sorry I was bored and decided to try to contribute to the site but I'm far from an expert. :D Maybe now you won’t have to answer this question every 3 minutes. After you read this also you’ll understand why when people say “I’ll get a BOV to fix the boost creep issue” they are incorrect and that will not fix the problem.

A lot of cars have a “MAF” (Mass airflow sensor) Pop the hood and it is right after your intake (shown here as a red cone) this is what reads how much air your intake sucked in. I will use generic numbers for this just to illustrate what I am talking about. If your MAF reads 10cfm of air coming in, your turbo compresses that and when it reaches your cylinders the computer adds fuel for 10cfm. No sputter and you can clearly see the path in the picture. Your car runs nice and works fine during shifting etc.

After market BOV’s work differently since there are 2 main kinds, vent to atmosphere and recirculating. We’ll talk about the ones that everyone wants first, vent to atmosphere (for that cool PSSSHH sound!)

You’ve installed an aftermarket (Vent to Atmosphere) BOV:
Look at the drawing, when the MAF reads 10cfm coming in your turbo compresses that, your computer adds 10cfm of fuel and all works well. Now when you shift things get crazy, your car bucks and it doesn’t run right usually and this is what happens: