IW STi Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As my not so witty title may have hinted at, I have some serious engine wear. After a catastrophic oil leak, my car has started to grind, knock, and burn oil. After taking the car to a trusted mechanic and the dealership, I am sure that I am looking down the barrel of a full engine job. I did my research on the forums, but I couldn’t find much in the way of similar situations or plausible solutions. To make matters worse, I am under a pretty serious financial limitation as I am a freshman in college with no money.

My mechanic and I believe the problem to be a spun rod bearing, but we have not ruled out the possibility of ring land failure (being so common in turbo Subaru’s). I have ordered an Oil analysis but I have not received my results yet. I am going to change the oil in the next few days and use a detergent cleaner to clear out any debris left behind from the previous owner’s poor maintenance schedule.

As for replacing the engine it looks like my options include the following:

I do not have the experience to know if this will be enough to get the engine into a daily driver condition. I am worried that there is damage to the crank and other internals will not be treated by a grind and rebuild kit.

The second plausible answer could be to purchase an OEM short block. My research says that it can easily handle my power goals, but I continue to risk another problem. Transferring my hardware onto the new short block.

The final obvious answer would be to simply purchase a replacement long block and have that installed. I feel that this would prevent unexpected problems during the building process, but I have also read other people’s horror stories about receiving engines that are in poor condition and require more money to restore.

What would you guys recommend for me to do to treat this problem?
What would be the most economical option for treating this problem?