IW STi Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
8,482 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was just browsing the video section and watching some track videos that people had posted and gets me thinking.

How is it that you get involved in these "races" or track events. I am not talking about auto cross, but I would love to get my STI out on a track. I wouldnt even have to compete, but have a safe place to stretch the cars legs and have some fun on some turns etc.

I have looked into SCCA a bit, but havent gotten too much info. So for those of you that run your cars on the track, how do you get involved in something like this?

Edit: for an example of a track that I am talking about that is near it would be Watkins Glen.

·
Banned
8,226 Posts
Here in NJ we have a few clubs (im still new to this too)

www.pdadrivingschool.com

^^ just as an example... from this site I can sign up for HPDE (High performance driver education ) and choose from atleast 3-4 local tracks. The clubs have their own track days also. Some clubs rent out a track, you pay a certain amount, and you can run on the track with other drivers.

Your first step is in the classroom. If you are famaliar with how it works, you may or may not need an instructor, however its good to get one if you are not famaliar with the way things work.

Once you go once, you will want to go over and over again. Its one of those things....

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
I'd find a track you want to run at and look at their calendar/schedule to see what groups regularly rent it out. Then research those clubs and find one that has a good, safe record and doesn't charge an arm & a leg. I took my STI to Laguna Seca within a couple months of purchase - best decision ever! :)

·
Registered
4,545 Posts
Check out www.opentrackaction.com they have a little directory you can have a gander at.

NASA is a club worth looking at, they are pretty cheap and when I was @ midohio with them earlier this summer I enjoyed myself.

·
Registered