IW STi Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys hoping I can get some advice as I'm completely new to Subaru and just bought a 2006 Subaru Impreza WRX STI. Here's what happened:

Started driving my car after it sat all day long for about 10-15 minutes driving up to 55-60 mph, only revving the car to around 5500 rpms. This is stop and go traffic btw. All of the sudden I pull to a red light and see smoke barreling out of the hood scoop. I look at my thermostat and its reading few notches above the second line. I immediately pull over to the side of the road, lift my hood and find coolant/antifreeze all over the engine bay. I wait a little bit open up the black reservoir to see I'm completely empty of coolant. Of course I look under the car to watch for leaks or drips but there wasn't any.

Get coolant at the gas station, fill the reservoir back up, fill my radiator back up. (I have an after market Mishimoto radiator). Looked for leaks, didn't find any. After about 30 minutes of waiting I hop back in, watch the thermostat all the way home, drive on the interstate at 80mph with ZERO issues. Thermostat rose to the normal right above the first mark and stayed there. Drove it again a few times without any issues.

Today now, I drive it again, driving the same way and noticed the thermostat was reading back above the second tick mark. I pulled over, car still running and look under the hood. No issues whatsoever. Hop back in drive the car for a while and it eventually cooled back down slowly to wear it normally is.

UPDATE: Today driving in the pouring rain the thermostat went higher, close to the three marks by the H indicator on my thermostat. I quickly tuned the car off, stopped and let it rest a little before driving it again. Just put coolant inside the night before. No coolant explosion or anything just reading super hot.