IW STi Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have to admit that the stock Bridgestone tires are absolutely the WORST tire you could ever own in the snow. I'm a very spirited driver in the snow and I was absolutely terrified on the 20 mile trip to work I had to make one day, in about 1.5 inches of snow. The absolute lack of brakes was the worst part. Shortly thereafter, I purchased a set of of Pirelli P zero-nero's all seasons, and the improvement was 100000%. Now I look for unplowed roads to enjoy. In the dry, they do seem to have less bite, as it's easier to get the back end to come out on corner exits. In the rain, I'm not sure. I've heard alot of complaints about the RE070 in the rain, but I thought they did rather well (they rode like shit and sounded like school bus in any condition). I've yet to try either tire in "hot weather" though. If anyone's interested, I'll sell the RE070's for a reasonable price (they have about 900 miles on them) and show virtually no wear. If you're interested, email me. One question, though...Does anyone know any decent performance upgrades that will actually improve functionality (gas mileage, powerband...) while improving handling or power?

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
You have cash!! $25 that is!

Uhm, the RE070's are summer tires. The will be very unsafe in the snow...why did you have reason to believe they'd be OK?

·
Registered
326 Posts
I agree...I didn't think a tire could be that bad in the snow but yea

those stock tires are terrible... I had winter tires on order but it took months to get them..(rims held it up...finally cancelled the rim order and got tarmak II's instead from subydude.com.)

anyway lets see there has been snow off and on here since the start of october... stock tires. = death trap..slid all the time.. new blizzaks...not a single out of control slide/manouver yet....not even close actually.

·
Registered
198 Posts
Bend EVO's?