IW STi Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Long time lurker, first time poster :tup: I'm a relative noob to vehicles in general but I do my homework beforehand and catch on quickly. This is not the first hobby/forum community I have been active in, so I know the drill.

car history:
I recently bought a used '05 STi. Under 20k miles on it, was in really good shape. Whoever had it before me had a radar detector installed and a boost gauge, so I assume he rode it moderately hard, but nothing crazy as these were the only mods I found present (maybe he removed some, but I didn't see signs. Under 20k miles on it at time of purchase, tire treads don't look that worn.

I had been looking into a kartboy/tic bushing combo, but that is besides the point. Basically the shifting is sometimes rough. Not the clutch engagement but the shifting of the knob. Sometimes it will slide into a gear without any pressure needed and sometimes I almost have to ram it in. (esp first and second gear) I can't say that I am a professional stick-shift driver, but I am good enough to know when its my problem or the car, and currently I believe it is the car.

Is this something that is common in STi's, or could this be something the previous owner did to it during his usage? Maybe different bushings? I thought about opening up the shifter housing and looking around but I don't really know what to be looking for. Any help would be appreciated, I dislike feeling like some part of the engagement is less than perfect, even if it doesn't seem like it has anything to do with the clutch.

· Registered
1,425 Posts
well im not sure if this will help u but, i had the same problem with my 03 rex and i was at about 30k so i took it in for a full maintainence and they changed my diff fluid or oil and my transmition oil nd my car is sooo much smooter now . . . i dont know but maybe u should have that checked out :p

· Registered
358 Posts