IW STi Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wanted to start a thread specifically for the season opening event at Buttonwillow. Who will be attending? Who will be racing?

Also, please remember that Saturday is only a High Performance Driving Event completely open to the public. So even if you dont want to race in the Time Attack, you can still come out to the track on Saturday and get 2+ hours of track time in. Your entry fee also gives you access to the facility on Sunday if you wish to return and spectate during the Time Attack competition.

Here is a direct link to the registration page:


For those of you who simply wish to come out and watch, Normal Admission is $15. You can print out a coupon from our website good for $5 off, or pick up one of our fliers from HIN Los Angeles on the 22nd, good for $5 off as well.

1,364 Posts
The results!

Monday Finish Line - March 31, 2008: Redline: Time Attack! Buttonwillow, NDRA Atlanta, Grand-Am Homestead

Redline: Time Attack!
Season Opener, March 29-30
Buttonwillow Raceway Park, Buttonwillow, California

Piloting a vehicle that was in mothballs just a few short weeks ago, drift superstar Tyler McQuarrie flexed his grip skills and took Overall Champion honors at the opening round of the Redline: Time Attack! this weekend at Buttonwillow Raceway Park just outside of Bakersfield, Calif.

On the 3-mile #13 race configuration of the circuit, McQuarrie laid down a blistering 1:48.829 hot lap with the C-West/Brian Crower/Design Craft Fab Honda S2000 in the Unlimited RWD category.

Dozens of challengers made the time trials, and by the event's second and final day a handful of Unlimited Class drivers had broken into sub-two minute territory. The next closest to McQuarrie's impressive feat was the Unlimited AWD Subaru Impreza of Brian Lock, which recorded a 1:49.867.

All-wheel driver JC Meynet took home gold in Street with a 1:57.241, and was 0.2 seconds short of repeating the same in Modified, but had to settle for second behind the 1:56.423 of Dieter Heinz's EVO.

Round 2 of the Redline: Time Attack! is set for April 18-20 at Gateway International Raceway in Madison, Illinois.

Street AWD
1 JC Meynet, Harmon Motive Subaru WRX STi 1:57.241
2 Yang Tang, Lee Myles Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 2:01.625
3 David Wheaton, LIC Motorsports Subaru WRX STi 2:02.467

Street RWD
1 Manly Kao, Track HQ Lotus Elise 2:01.178
2 Robert Waker, Evasive Motorsports Honda S2000 2:01.218
3 Kelvin Young, Evasive Motorsports Honda S2000 2:02.564

Street FWD
1 Billy Brooks, Cobb Mazdaspeed3 2:06.412
2 Jason Nathan, Initial Impression Dodge Neon SRT-4 2:10.120
3 Robert Bawdon, Honda Civic Si 2:18.163

Modified AWD
1 Dieter Heinz, Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 1:56.423
2 JC Meynet, Harmon Motive Subaru WRX STi 1:56.645
3 Lawrence Loshak, AMS Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution 1:58.954

Modified FWD
1 Tim Kuo, SportCar Motion Honda Civic 1:58.751
2 Nick Rondet, Skunk2 Racing Acura RSX Type-S 2:00.845
3 Matt Bell, Garage Inc. Honda Civic 2:02.304

Unlimited RWD
1 Tyler McQuarrie, C-West Honda S2000 1:48.829
2 Ernesto Roco, Hoosier Tire Ford Mustang 1:51.941
3 Billy Johnson, MWorkz Nissan 350Z 1:52.337

Unlimited AWD
1 Brian Lock, GST Subaru Impreza 1:49.867
2 Ryan Novak, Harmon Motive Subaru WRX STi 2:08.779

Unlimited FWD
1 Tage Evanson, Kaaz Nitto Tire Honda Civic 1:58.328

Drift Class
1 Henry Shelley, Nissan S14 240SX 2:05
2 Verena Mei, Nissan 350Z 2:11
1 - 6 of 6 Posts