IW STi Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first ever post, but I have been scouring the internet and forums for months. Long post ahead and ill be as detailed as I can. Ill structure as background, issues, tests completed(what i can think of at the time of writing this), then the call for help.

Background:

Thanks in advance for any all help. I'm a noob to Subaru's, but am a technician by trade and have history with DSM's. Im factory certified for Honda, Suzuki, Yamaha, Kawasaki, Stihl, and about 10 John Deere certifications from lawnmowers/UTV's to Combines/Sprayers.

I'm not looking to get talked down to, as engines aren't new to me. I just need some Subaru specific help, and I know there are some phenomenal techs on these forums.

I have a 2012 STI(30,000miles) purchased 8 months ago. Already had a Cobb access port v3, invidia catback exhaust, atmospheric BOV, AEM intake, and turbo inlet installed. Stock turbo, injectors, pump, and boost controller.

When test driving, the car pulled hard, no misfires, no codes. Decided to purchased. Had them install the catless down pipe that came with the car, they said it was off because they weren't allowed to sell with it on due to emissions.(should have been my red flag, I don't know if that is true.) Following day I was able to really test drive the car and during 4th gear, full boost, extended pulls the car would smoke screen when you let off the throttle. Well damn... Called the dealership, an even though they sold it to me with a full factory warranty to 60k miles, they wouldn't touch it and said i would have to go to Subaru. O yeah, purchased through a GMC dealership. I knew damn well if I wanted to go to Subaru id have to pull the exhaust(didn't have the stock one), pull the AEM intake(no stock one), and pull the Cobb V3 after flashing in the stock map. I didn't want to take it there and get the car tagged on the "books" as being modded.