IW STi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys.

Just got our STi 2 days ago. Looks like we have a problem with the engine reving funny.

When at idle, for no reason at all, the engine will go from 500 RPM to 1500 or 2000 for a few seconds, then it drops back to 500. That seems to happen randomly, maybe every minute or so. The A/C is not on, no lights, no sound system. Not sure if the fan starts when this occures, I can't hear it.

Also, I notice that engine speed does not go down immediately when I release the gas pedal. I see that happen when I shift (I've been driving manual trannys for 18 years now, unlikely to be a timing issue). I also feel it when I go down a hill when I'm in gear: lets say I want to use engine compression to slow down, I feel the compression only about 3 seconds after I release the gas pedal. Not sure if this and the idle problem are related.

Did any of you experience these problems?

·
Registered
2,468 Posts
welcome to the forum and congrats on the car. ths is a very weird problem and the first i've heard of it. does the car drive normally otherwise? is it responsive to quick throttle presses? i could (but won't)make a fool of myself and generate hypotheses; i have no answers. the car is throttle-by-wire...hmmm. do keep us up-to-date with your steps to a cure.

·
Registered
163 Posts
Where are the 4 screws for center trim?

Also clong, in my expierence the car seems to be very sensitive to lower octane gas, so make sure you get the highest octane available in your area and keep to the break in schedule.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I have also noticed that it takes much longer than expected in the STi for the revs to drop when I change gears. I figured it was just a part of the engine/flywheel configuration. I am used to lower power I4s.

T

·
0 Posts
Yea that doesn't sound normal at all, I would have it checked at the dealer.

·
Registered
119 Posts