IW STi Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Drive True
6,833 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What is the deal with some of those wings out there? I thought I'd start a poll of my own.

For example...Pogi Wings

Also, carbon fiber wings (and hoods) that are unpainted...if I were gonna get a carbon hood, I'd get a black car...

S

·
0 Posts
If the wing is functional and you are racing, then I say who cares what onlookers think. I want the improved cornering capability.

If it is some kid that thinks it is cool to try to make a 110 hp honda look like a race car; then it is a bit silly.

I wouldn't mind shedding some of the 3100lb. If I could do so and still use it as a comfortable daily driver, I would. Those kinds of mods will have to wait until the car is being replaced, which will hopefully be in another 4-6 years. Then I will consider installing a cage and entering a Rally race, or two. :eek:

·
Registered
2,773 Posts
People in the US don't understand the look of the metal wings because we aren't exposed to the types of racing other countries have over seas. For the most part, if you asked people here why they have a metal wing and a single wiper blade, they'd say they want to look JDM. Well, why do the JDM street racers have those things?

If you watch some of the European stock class races, that's when you see the crazy graphics, the metal wings, the single wiper blades and the vinyl strips on the windshields.

Now some people do get just tacky with their cars, however......we shouldn't be able to say that people with metal wings are any worse than the US automakers. Some one approved the production of cars such as the NASCAR Edition Grand Prix, or the similar version of the Dodge Avenger....or whatever it is now.....each of these cars complete with things such as yellow letter tires, black rims, roof rails, NASCAR style spoilers. Same thing....in a different form...isn't it?