IW STi Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
378 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newb at stick. Can someone tell me the at which revs for the STi I should be shifting in each gear for the best acceleration? "Lowly" passenger cars are out in front of me from a stop, unless I mash on the pedal, which I don't feel I should need too. :(

·
wie geht es ihnen?
2,218 Posts
totally depends on the situation.

normal city/highway driving take it to above 4k RPM before shifting. basically don't let the tranni/engine bog because you're to low in the revs for the shift into 2nd, 3rd, 4th, etc.

having fun/street racing...to REDLINE!

·
Registered
114 Posts
moto

No need for optimum acceleration to outpace 99.9% of cars. For the 0.01% I'd keep the car between 4k-6k with the accelerator floored, which means shifting around 6k.

·
Drive True
6,833 Posts
I remembered there was a thread awhile back in which you could actually calculate the optimum shift points by just doing a little math:

Check here, especially note what WRX_Mundi posted. Of course, if you have mods those shift points will change. :wink:

·
Registered
347 Posts
the motor makes peak power at 6000rpm, so shifting at or slightly above that will get you where you are going in the quickest fashion. there is no need to "redline" the motor at every shift, as the power levels/drops after 6000rpm, you're wasting time...just be smoooooothhhhhh. having that extra 1000-1200rpm before the rev limiter hits is nice on autocross or tight road course sections, where you may not want to shift and then downshift right away. the link nimiz posted does a great job with stressing the need to be smooth as well as quick. don't just yank the crap out of the shift lever.

·
Registered
1,879 Posts
The lower gear multiplies the torque better, even after the powerband peaks.

You'll still be accelerating faster by waiting til redline to shift.

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
lupohki said: