IW STi Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been noticing some people say that the Y pipe that comes with the ssautochrome tmic needs to be ported some to equal stock. Would it be beneficial to port and polish the intake manifold as well (have to take it off for injector and aps inlet install.)

thanx

James

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
id have to say no to the p&p. but defenately to a portmatch. im new to the sti thing, but for most of the other cars ive dealt with if you polish the inside of the intake manifold, that creates alot less turbulance which is actually a bad thing. it will not allow the mixture to mix properly and youll actually lose performance. anyone step in and correct me if im wrong with the sti here. just tryin to help.

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
i would think that less turbulance would be a good thing.

·
Registered
1,656 Posts
siusti said:
i would think that less turbulance would be a good thing.
thats what everyone would naturally think. there needs to be turbulance for the air and the fuel to mix properly. its like putting something into a blender and taking the cup and just shaking it in a smooth circular motion (no turbulance). it wouldnt mix as good as if you turned the blender on. inside the cup when the blender is on, there is mass confusion lol. everything is going in every wich way, but its mixing alot better. (turbulance) thats the only way i can think of to describe it, if it doesent make sense, then im sorry.

·
Registered
6,554 Posts
basicly you're saying if there is no turbulance the air and fuel would sort of just sit side by side instead of mixed?

·
Registered
1,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·