IW STi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
546 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am in the process of manufacturing a new larger sump oil pan at a affordable price. I obviously will pay the vendor fees when I get the desighn out of the way. So on to my question to you guys, what would you like to see in a aftermarket oil pan?

I am planning on adding the capacity to a total of seven quarts (the larger volume will help cooling since oil is the # one cooling agent in an engine, and of course it will break down slower). I also plan on keeping the pan steel instead of aluminum (I do have the ability to make it in aluminum) to cut down costs and steel is a bit more forgiving when it comes to road debris.

So far I should be able to offer these in the $200-$250 range, which is considerably cheaper than the $500 one I found already available.

Please keep info constructive, and to those wondering I have been a sheetmetal mechanic for over ten years and this entire project will remain in house.

·
How YOU Doin?
3,157 Posts
If there is a way to make it a dry sump system, that would be awesome. I am all for more oil capacity, but any engine is going to suffer from oil starvation in some instances (high G turns, etc).

I have no idea if this is possible on our cars, but the M3 LTW came with a dry sump oil pan from the factory, while its normal counterparts came with the traditional system. AFAIK, it was just the oil pan that was swapped out.

·
Registered
546 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well I sure it can be done but the cost would be much more since you have to use a different oil pump and many lines/and possibly machinework done to the block.

What I am proposing is a direct replacement larger sump. I can add baffles if requested, but for most street cars it is not needed. Now on a auto x car it may be desired.

·
Registered
524 Posts