IW STi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello I am a total newbie to these forums, and a first time subaru owner. Just got an 06 WRB sti. I need help with gettin the suspension done. I dont plan on auto-crossing it any time soon. It will be my daily driver, and thats it. I want a firm but forgiving ride for the street. I have had a few hondas, most recently a type-r, and was unhappy with the tein coilovers i put on it. Simply too stiff for my needs, even with damping set on soft. If I simply drop my suby with Tein springs, are the stock dampers sturdy enough to handle the lowered height and and higher spring rate? Also I need some sort of correction for the camber settings. I dont need tons of negative camber, I wore thru way too many sets of tires on the hondas. Thanks for your help guys. While this car doesnt have have the sewing machine linearity of a honda, the torque is so sweet. I am a convert to forced induction from now on.

·
Registered
44 Posts
I have a friend with TEIN S-Techs and his ride is ruff, the stock shocks are have harder damping then the 05's. I have the TEIN FLEX and they are a nice ride all the way on the softest setting. If you that the FLEX's on you're Type-R then you would not like any of the TEIN's. If I was in your shoes I would get some pinks if you just want it a little lower but have a good ride...

·
I Solve Problems
18,253 Posts
do not get Tein Springs for an STi. Period.

there are many better options for our cars.

the RCE springs or JDM STi Pinks, are the first that come to mind.

and when you do decide to autox your car will be very capable.

·
I Solve Problems
18,253 Posts
blksubie said:
the stock shocks are have harder damping then the 05's.
please post a link to this info.

·
Registered
1,812 Posts
are you just looking for a lower stance or is performance important? Do you want to even out the fender gap? (ie lower in the front)