IW STi Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! So i am not new to cars but I am new to Subaru’s. I’m still trying to learn the ins and outs but I’ve got some questions.

i insured my project STi for the day and had a blast, but mostly to refresh myself of the parts list of things to repair. But that’s led to a lot of little questions. Hopefully you guys can answer some of them without flaming me too hard.

1. Front windshield washer pump does not operate. First guess is a fuse, but when I look in the owners manual there is no fuse listed. I see the rear pump is listed in position 23, and “front wiper (not pump) in position 30. No mention of a washer pump

2. I have an oil leak, looks like the passenger VVT solenoid onto the header. If I go online some places say left or right, some just carry one part number, and I’m getting confused. Do these vehicles have 4 total? 2 intake and 2 exhaust cam solenoids, two per head obviously. My build date is august ‘09 for 2010my

3. if I have to remove the headers to do the vvt solenoids, with the amount of rust on all the fasteners I bet im gonna have to cut it all off. Figured I should order some aftermarket headers to go on. Does the 2010 STi have one catalytic converters or two? I don’t want to throw any codes, just looking to put on headers/up pipe. All the aftermarket ones have no cat built in, but if you google OEM headers you get a total mix of information. Issue of having the same motor for 20+ years…

4. the shocks/springs are original (275,000km) and actually still feel pretty damn good, car handles fine and doesn’t rattle, but you can tell the dampening is very tired. I have a set of ke v3’s but I think I’ll be lifting it up. If the shocks were good I’d go a spacer kit but since they need replacing, I’ll go king springs.