IW STi Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys so I'm a new Subie owner in San diego. it's the first Subie I've ever had it's an 08 STI hatch. 157k miles on it.

so I'm pretty much retarded when it comes to mechanical issues but I started putting my nose into this after I got my car. so after 3k miles of driving the car, i decided to buy an AP and an SF intake and airbox. I installed those and after started data logging. I noticed that I'm only getting 8 psi when I heard I'm supposed to get 14.5psi stock! so I did a little research and saw that maybe my electric boost solenoid might be bad. so I checked it and found out all the vac lines are not connected! :confused:

now I will get this fixed asap but I just want to know how did this affect the car? how did it run without those lines?

sorry if my question is stupid but I'm just new to this, also sorry for my bad English it's not my first language.

·
Registered
694 Posts
That's actually probably good news the lines weren't connected.

Without the boost controller working, you were running on wastegate pressure, which explains only hitting 8psi. That basically means the turbo was venting boost at the lowest possible pressure. Is it the boost controller stock?

I'd personally return the car to stock then have a very qualified shop that is experienced with these cars check the car over in its entirety to make sure you know everything that's going on with it. Then go from there.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Yes the boost controller is stock. but why are you saying that "That's actually probably good news the lines weren't connected"?
well the car is only stage 1+ no other mods on it... so wouldn't reconnecting both lines to the stock boost solenoid and resetting the ecu would solve the problem?

·
Premium Member
5,330 Posts