IW STi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A friend asked me what laptop she should buy. Her current laptop is a compaq turd and would like something better. She uses this laptop for very basic photo editing, internet, and ms office.

I used to follow laptops but haven't been in touch w/them for a while and not sure what to recondmend. I prefer toshiba since i have been using this laptop for 4 years and not one hiccup (knock on wood).

Any help would be wonderful.

·
Registered
350 Posts
Macbook, and if she is a window's gal, then you can run parallels or bootcamp (applications that allow you to run windows on a Mac). I have a Macbook Pro and I love it. I use to be a big PC guy and times have changed...you pay more, but as you know (and its the same with cars) you get what you pay for...

·
Registered
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Macbook, and if she is a window's gal, then you can run parallels or bootcamp (applications that allow you to run windows on a Mac). I have a Macbook Pro and I love it. I use to be a big PC guy and times have changed...you pay more, but as you know (and its the same with cars) you get what you pay for...
I mentioned this to her but she is intimidated and scared about the switch. She isn't computer friendly, but knows the basics. I should of mentioned her budget of $700ish in the 1st post.

I will be doing the switch once this laptop wears down.

·
Registered
590 Posts
i just got a Toshiba for $700 (was on sale at Best Buy, usually $850). only thing i don't like about it is Vista, which i ****ING HATE. Toshiba's are really good because you get a lot for the money and if anything goes wrong, they're easier to fix because they don't use nearly as much proprietary stuff as the major brands (that's what i'm told anyway).

·
Registered
1,188 Posts
Have her get a MacBook :)