IW STi Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
241 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought the Alpine CDA-7897 ( http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAudio/ProductDetail.aspx?ProductID=12094 ) from Etronics and now I need speakers. I think I'm going to just use the subaru tweeters if the dealer will throw them in for free.

Okay, I want 6.5" in the front and 5.25" in the rear. I want to stick with Alpine if possible and since I have NO prior experience with Alpine speakers, I need your help. Which speakers do you recommend for me? I listen to anything, from rap to alternative. I like a little bass, and I love loud, clear sound. I'm not going to get subs because they weigh too much. I might get an external amp later down the road. I was told I should get 3-ways up front and 2-ways in the rear (better for bass). One question is, doesn't 3-ways include an external tweeter mounted on the speaker cone? Could I just get four 2-ways and use good tweeters? I'm going to purchase some IA spacers and tweeter thingies, but I don't know which ones I need. What do you suggest?

Thanks SOO much for your help :) Oh yeah, I'm not SET on Alpine speakers so feel free to let me know what you're using :)

·
Registered
949 Posts
Re: jammers

imo, do not use subaru's tweeters.
get a pair of 6.5 components for your front doors.
if you need to produce more midbass, you may want to look into a 3 way set-up that has a dedicated midbass driver, but that will mean you have to install a kickpanel to hold the driver.
a single 3 way speaker is not going to give performance that can match a good pair of components.

i looked into alpine type r 6.5 components for the front. they sounded ok to my ears, but nothing that really impressed me. their midbass was not crisp imho.
also, slpine type r's are deep speakers and may7 require some modification to install in your doors, not positive though.