IW STi Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am brand new to Turbo cars. I have been building, racing v8 camaro's for years and admittedly know NOTHING about turbo cars.
First of all, I must admit, I just bought an 04 STI and this car is unbelieveable, I will never make fun of big wings again, lol.
Now, my question. On the stock turbo guage, the highest I see the gauge rise to is +10. Is this 10 pounds of boost?? I understand the STI is supposed to put out 14.5 pounds?
I was told a stock STI turbo is capable of putting out up to 17-18?
What steps can I take to increase boost without getting in to big dollar mods??
Thanks again for all the help!!!

·
Registered
199 Posts
AZ:JDM Sti Version 7 CAMS & BUCKETS, Mint!

first of all, the "stock" boost gauge reads in Mpa, so +10 isn't 10 pounds of boost.

i don't think anybody has a good handle on how much boost the stock turbo can take. it's pretty small so i'd be a bit leery of running 17 psi. try a little bit more and work from there.

if you want to increase boost without spending lots of mony get yourself an mbc and go from there.

don't balme anyone but yourself when you blow up your motor. tuning turbos is nothing like tuning pushrod v8s, trust me, i know.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you for the input. I appreciate the help. I will take it very slow, but I have a lot to learn. WHat is a MBC? A boost controller? What is involved in installing one? What brand do you recommend? Thanks again

·
Registered
167 Posts
Re: Auto Sprayer ?