IW STi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
459 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
How-to: 2004 STi ABS sensor troubleshooting - installation guide

Disclaimer:
I'm not a mechanic. I have absolutely NO training in that field. What I know, i learned by doing mistakes. I can't be held accountable for any/all of this how-to. Use are your own risk :)

Hola everyone :) Been a while since i've posted. Anyways, on with the how-to!

Problem:
So you have your ABS light brightely lit up in your dash. Your DCCD is disabled and it's flashing green. WTF is going on?

How to read the ABS code:
Locate those green connectors above your feet, located up where to clutch is. There is a small bundle of wires that are attached to those green wires. Those are the ABS diagnostic wires. Prepare to curse a lot just locating this connector.

Plug in ONE of the prong connectors to terminal 6. It won't be easy because the space is limited down there, so that flashlight will be useful :)

Put the key in the ignition and set your key to position "ON"

The first code you'll get is 11. The ABS light will flash a long flash, then one short one. Follow carefully, the trouble code is next.

ABS DTC list

11 – Start Code, DTC is shown after start code, Only start code is shown in normal condition

Abnormal ABS sensor, open circuit or voltage too high
21 – front right ABS sensor
23 – front left ABS sensor
25 – rear right ABS sensor
27 – rear left ABS sensor

Abnormal ABS sensor, abnormal ABS sensor signal
22 – front right ABS sensor (passenger front)
24 – front left ABS sensor (driver front)
26 – rear right ABS sensor (passenger rear)
28 – rear left ABS sensor (driver rear)
29 – any one of four

Abnormal solenoid valve circuits in ABS control module and hydraulic unit
31 – Front right inlet valve
32 – Front right outlet valve
33 – Front left inlet valve
34 – Front left outlet valve
35 – Rear right inlet valve
36 – Rear right outlet valve
37 – Rear left inlet valve