IW STi Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I did a search on here and google and couldnt find any real information besides air bag info and stuff. Any way, since the STI is so lightweight and cut down to save weight, is it unsafe?? Will the car just fall apart if you get hit or into an accident? I know it has front and side airbags which is great, but does anyone know if it is an OK car in this catagory?? Need some positive feedback to help convince the parents its ok to get one haha

·
Registered
119 Posts
it's real safe man....when i bought the STi, i saw ratings for the safety and it was one of the best...go to the dealer and ask for it. the test was government tested man.

·
Registered
2,343 Posts
Well, it's a Hell of a lot safer than the CRX I've been driving for almost 16 years. At #3200, I would think most folks would be looking to pare the STi down a bit... I know I will. Relatively speaking, I think the STi is extremely safe.

My guess would be that, in a "parental persuation" situation, driver judgement would be the prime safety concern.

·
Registered
2,482 Posts
It may be small, but it is 3263 lbs according to Subaru. It's not THAT light. That's more than 700 lbs heavier than a Toyota Celica, 600 some lbs more than a Civic sedan, and about only about 100 lbs less than an Accord EX V-6 sedan.

And it can still kick all their butts without trying hard.

·
Registered
23 Posts
The impreza line was tested to be the safest car in it's class in the crash testing done by the government. Now add the bad arse driveline we enjoy and you can take a guess on how safe it is.

·
Registered
3,454 Posts
Stops faster than a 360 Modenna which is like 5x the cost of our cars, so I would say its as safe as the driver behind the steering wheel. People do not jump out in front of the STI any more than they do any other car on the street. If you drive it into a wall, it will break just like any other car.

·
Registered
121 Posts