IW STi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I noticed someone else in this forum has an interest in guns and I decide to start a discussion.

This is way off topic, but I am interested to see if there are any other ImprezaWRXSTi Forum users who have some advice. I am interested in purchasing a handgun, and I am looking for real honest suggestions and experiences. I have some experience shooting, I have spent quite a bit of time at ranges and testing out various firearms. I have shot everything from 1000fps pellet guns to full auto machine guns. I am currently interested in the following makes in .40 S&W: H&K, Glock, Sig, Walther, S&W, and perhaps Beretta. I am looking for some general advice on something that I can shoot on weekends. Also something that is not too expensive (thats why I haven't bought the H&K, yet).

Something that is typical in different auto forums is the buy what you like response. I would like to do that, but money may be an issue. Mostly I am looking for personal experiences and prefences.

·
Registered
281 Posts
Well, like you said, the "buy what you like" response will be typical, but in handguns, maybe more so than cars, if it doesn't fit you won't be happy. At least go to a dealer that carries most of the guns you are comparing so you can hold them and see how they fit your hands.

The same goes for the brand. Personally, I cannot stand the Glock trigger. I know that the gun is well made, but I cannot shoot it well because of the "double action only" style trigger and trigger interlock. Some people swear by Glocks and that's all they'll carry. All the firearms you have mentioned are high quality pieces, so I wouldn't worry about the brand. Choose the one that fits you hands, your needs, and your budget.