IW STi Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
STI Trunk Lid

I live in CT and rather than deal with new wheels/tires, worry about salt & sand scratching the paint, contend with FWD or RWD vehicles sliding into me, etc., I've decided to garage my STi for the winter-time. :cry: I love this car...and just don't want to deal w/those hassles. I'd rather it be kept nice and shiny garaged than be broken-hearted at every little sand mark or salt stain. I have never done this before and was wondering what I need to do in terms of maintenance during this period. I am planning on starting it peridoically (1x/week? More? Less?) I am just looking for some tips from folks who have done this before. All help is greatly appreciated!!!

·
Registered
411 Posts
I understand how you feel and plan on doing the same, however, CT's weather isn't that bad, but I will not take the STi out on bad conditions. The project vehicle I had before the STi was mostly garaged during the winter. But there were times were all the snow was gone and the sand/salt was pushed to the side of the road. Those kind of days I would go for a cruise, but try to stay off the highways, especially 95. Your front end will look like it got sand blasted. :x

As for leaving it in the garage, keep an eye on all the fluids and tire pressure, and perform the scheduled maintenence. If your garage isn't heated, make sure the water resorvoir for the intercooler spray is half empty. Warm it up every 3 or 4 days.

·
Registered
614 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Thorn - thanks very much for the advice. Should I plan on doing a wintertime oil change then (-shudder-)? Is there anything else, aside from making sure fluids are kept topped off, that needs to be addressed? Will starting it and letting it idle suffice, or should I plan around a 10-20 min. cruise weekly?

·
Registered
2,823 Posts