IW STi Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So question for all those with FMIC, How are you managing to lower coolant temps in your setups? I have a mishimoto 3 core rad and fans. With current temps on the rise so do my coolant temps. seems fine around town usually somewhere around 185. Highway 70ish MPH 190-200 if i turn the a/c on 230+. My next plan is to put a gates racing water pump on and maybe a lower temp thermostat... any thoughts from those with fmic or ppl with experience bringing the temps down would be greatly appreciated. I know the air flow kinda sucks with the stock bumpers, but havent seen anything that would allow more air flow.
Vehicle Hood Car Motor vehicle Automotive design

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
230F+ is really in the danger zone. I'd first address the scoop block off as @healtoer suggested before driving the car.
only gets that high if i have to a/c on, as a mechanic myself i would never leave it up that high. it is concerning to me and this is my first subaru. never really had these problems on my other turbo cars with fmic

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
this site is a trove of information, and i searched the site before posting this up just couldnt find anything in the search bar, i will try the block off plate as well. I do still intend to put a better water pump in the car, just curious if i should run a lower thermostat?

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
You want to see hot, look at your intake temps when the A/C is on...

Any-time you put something in front of a radiator it diminishes the performance of the radiator. To make matters worse, you're using a radiator known (Google is your friend) to cause high temp issues; worse than OEM in some situations.