IW STi Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many of you have been tuned on ecutek and what's your feedback on this engine management?

I've been running a Cobb protune for about 3 years now and with the new green speed updates I want to get a re tune but I have no emissions devices on my car.

I have zero interest in re-purchasing and installing the emissions devices. Charcoal canister system failed a long time ago so before my pro tune I deleted EGR all together.

My car is an 04 sti so when I did the id1050x top feed conversion it only made sense to go with tgv deletes.

Current performance mods are blouch 20g, id1050x, presicion 46mm external wastegate, catless downpipe.

I'm looking to add a HKS equal length header and FP blue and re-tuning, however I do not want to go the Cobb route as I'll have check engine lights with the new green speed firmware.

Just wondering if ecutek was a viable option and how many others have feedback on it. From my understanding it does not modify the oem ecu like Cobb does. It overwrites it as a standalone would? I'm looking to hear pros and cons. From others who are currently using it.

·
Registered
2020 Subaru WRX STI
267 Posts
just following this thread.

I am in the same boat. Many mods that would have COBB CEL. Looking for reliable, alternate ways to tune for new parts.

·
Registered
SWP 2012 GR Hatch
853 Posts
Can't offer feedback on ECUtek but just to clarify:

From my understanding it does not modify the oem ecu like Cobb does. It overwrites it as a standalone would?
ECUtek does overwrite the OEM ecu programming, just in a different 'language' than Cobb, so they cannot be used together in any combined form.

A standalone is as the name implies; it is a separate brand new ECU that stands alone from the car's other computers and replaces the OEM ecu and often some or all of the wiring to and from it.