IW STi Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
318 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the sport. I've been to the track twice since April. Some of my friends said it is recommended you not only change the engine oil, but also the transmission and diff. fluid after every track day event.

As far as I concern, I have driven approx 100 miles in total, and I wasn't pushing my car as hard as some of the other expereience drivers, bacause I simply don't have the skills to push it that hard on the track yet.

Please advice!

Thanks
EL

·
Poor Speed Racer
4,432 Posts
laueddy said:
I am new to the sport. I've been to the track twice since April. Some of my friends said it is recommended you not only change the engine oil, but also the transmission and diff. fluid after every track day event.

As far as I concern, I have driven approx 100 miles in total, and I wasn't pushing my car as hard as some of the other expereience drivers, bacause I simply don't have the skills to push it that hard on the track yet.

Please advice!

Thanks
EL

oil, ok i can see changing that after every track event. As for Tranny and diff? No way would i change those after every event, that would get really expensive and time consuming. While the heat and stress on those parts is increased a lot when tracking your car i have never heard of someone changing the drivetrain fluid on a street car after tracking it. I also have not heard of people breaking stuff because of a fluid problem. Most (amature) racers change that stuff once a season if that.

I have well over a thousand+ track miles on my subaru, and I just change the oil a little sooner after I track. I normally change my oil at like 4500 miles, if i track, i change it at 3K.

One fluid you MUST remember is the brake fluid, I do a full flush about twice a season. I figure $15 and an hour of time is worth the insurance on the track :)

-Spaze

·
Registered
179 Posts