IW STi Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
379 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been running with a Seibon CF hood for the last 6 months and using the stock hood struts. They work, but not perfectly. If the hood isn't pulled down evenly, you'll hear a pop due to the hood flexing. It somehow sounds like a bond breaking.

I found an ebay shop that supplies various lengths and pressures of gas struts. Here are the pictures.

I used some angled bars to make the brackets since the stock struts are riveted onto the stock brackets.

You can see the seller's website. I used two 18.5" struts with 40 lbs of pressure each.

10mm ball ends with M8 threads are available from the shop. The two on the left have a slightly shorter threaded section.

Fully opened.

Pulled down 6". If pulled down more than 6" the hood will continue to drop. Please assist it or your hood may crack. If nudged up from this position it will stay in place. If nudged up by an inch, it will excruciatingly slowly rise to the maximum height. I don't think it has a chance of crashing down from that point up.

The struts are not as buttery smooth as OEM. Lets see if that changes with use.

My first attempt used 30 lbs struts which were not enough. The slightest wind or vibration sent the hood down.

If I were to do this again, I'd use 60 lbs struts so it opens a bit faster towards maximum extension, and gives some allowance for weakening pressure as the struts age.

An observation: A single stock strut exerts more pressure that two 40 lbs struts. OEM is certainly over 80 lbs per strut.