IW STi Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been searching for a while and i found a few answers but i wan't to know if there are any other ways to disable abs. Currently i have a switch wired up to my abs fuse but i dont like that cause i cant controll the cent diff. Ive read somewhere about taking off an abs sensor from one corner of the car but i want to be able to turn it on and off quickly for diffrent conditions. Any ideas?

·
Registered
1,198 Posts
I work as an engineer in the ABS world and I tell you that it is pretty much impossible to turn it off unless you just cut power to it. That BOSCH unit is almost impossible to break into because of the way they manufacture their ECU housings. I have done it a few times and the unit is pretty much shot after you do it.

I was thinking of this a lot too and I have a few of these units at work. I will ask a few guys that benchmarked it how they control the unit. Maybe they will be able to tell me if we can break into the power wire and maybe run a switch off of there so that you kill the power to the entire assembly. However, I am sure that a "disco" full of lights and fault codes will appear.

Let me check this out and I will get back to you.

·
Registered
337 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Mainly for use in gravel and snow to perform the scandanavian flick. Also in snow and gravel you can slow down faster by locking up the brakes and making piles. Also lately in the rain ive been sliding out a lot lately and im sick of having to pull the ebrake so i dont go in the ditch because the abs still makes my car go in the direction its pointed.

·
Registered
1,198 Posts