IW STi Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Re: Newbie here

ok guys i've read here and there that you can install a 6.5 componet set in the front doors. so here is the deal. I don't have my sti (yet) it should be here in the next 3 weeks or so. I have a honda prelude type sh, and i put a MOMO trek steering wheel on it. and i traded it for a set of Diamond Audio M661's which i am going to use as the front speakers. I have a Clarion ProAudio DXZ835MP as my head unit, now is where you guys come in.

What should i use for the rear speakers and where should they be installed at?? i know that the car is still a ways away but i just don't want it to come in and there be any loose ends left to tie up. also should i get any Dynamat or deading material?? Also does this sound like it will be a good set up??

·
Registered
10 Posts
Re: Brake bleeder screw size?

I have some Diamond Audio S600a (6 1/2 components) and some Dynamat Extreme (bulk pack) arriving from shipment. Once I get this I'll see if I can get a digital camera and do a write up. I'll let ya know how it goes. (Yes I'm just planning on doing the front doors for now. I'll work on the subs and rear doors for fill later)

-b0n3z

·
Premium Member
173 Posts
The best place for rear speakers is not in the rear doors! The rear deck is the way to go. Much better fade. But the largest rears that will fit are 5 1/2". :-?

M

·
0 Posts
What did they do with that electronics box/relay thingy that covers up the right side rear deck hole?

I was looking at it last night to decide how big a set of speakers i could fit in there, so thanks for the 5 1/2 info

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
did anyone use any dynamat in the rear deck?? i just ordered some dynamat extreme off of ebay for 35 bucks and the shops around here are selling the same thing for 90 bucks. and i just need to know if i should pick up one more from ebay??

·
Premium Member
2,802 Posts
Airbox mod?