IW STi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a college student looking to buy a laptop. There won't be any gaming at all, so that'll calm the price down. I'm looking to just use basic things such as Microsoft Office, maybe Photoshop. Those are the main programs that could even somewhat push the limit of my laptop. On the computer it'll just be student programs, watching movies, listening to music, chatting, car tuning (tuning as in ECU, Boost, Timing and what not), constant web surfing, and downloading off of BitTorrent .

My desktop that I'm running is:

Intel P4 3.4 GHz
1GB of Ram
2 X 186GB Raptor Hard Drive
ATi All-In-Wonder 9800 128mb

Overall I think this computer is pretty fantastic! I'm hoping to have a laptop as nice if not better than that.

I was wondering if I should just build the laptop or if I should purchase a laptop from somewhere such as Dell, Frys, and etc.

Some things that I'm looking for in the laptop is:

Bigggggg Screen
Duo Core/Core 2 Duo ( I prefer intel)
120/160GB Hard Drive
2GB So-Dimm Ram
Good Video Card (I'm not too experienced in this field)

Anyone have any idea how much a laptop like this would cost? Should I build a laptop or should I just order one? Operating Systems aren't really a big problem for me. I haven't used Vista in awhile, but when I did, I didn't like it at all so I'm just running XP SP2 at the moment.

Thanks for taking your time to read all this!

·
Registered
1,281 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Yeah, there are forums out there that show good deals on laptops and what not and Dell has a lot of deals all the time. A real popular one is the Vostro. Though, I've heard a lot of crap about Dells Customer Service, Products, and etc ... Anyone care to emphasize on this?

·
Registered
67 Posts
just a word of advice from someone in the computer industry.

you BUY laptops.
you MAKE desktops.