IW STi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 77 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2020 STI---I've talked to a E Tuner around my way (will not post the name of tuner) who informed me that they would E tune my car but I would be stuck with a CEL due to the Cobb Gesi Downpipe I am new to tuning of any vehicle and wanted to know if this was the consensus amongst most E tuners? If so would having it tuned on the dyno solve the issue or are there any reputable E tuners in the community that could work with me. I have a bunch of parts I have been collecting for a year or so that want to put on the car. Any information or help would be great thanks in advance

· Registered
1,471 Posts
I am e-tuned with that DP and no cel. I have a 2015. Not sure if that changes anything. I used BrenTuning btw, he was easy to work with.

· Registered
2,965 Posts
I think you may need to look into contacting another tuner. There have been hundreds to thousands of us running downpipes and protunes throughout the years without having a check engine light on. That also including catless set ups. A dyno tune wont solve your issue, its all in the tuner and their abilities. I would make sure that whoever you're going to is a Cobb certified protuner.

· Registered
2,965 Posts
Id like to retract my previous statement and also insert foot into mouth.

· Registered
2020 STI
37 Posts
OP, I might be able to help with an answer. From my experience in my 2020 STI, the Cobb GESI downpipe does not work on 19+. It is the Gen 1 300 cell cat that is the problem.

Cobb has also discontinued development of a new downpipe for 19+ STIs if you read their Green Speed updates carefully. I have been installing different cats to see if any would work, but so far I have had zero success. The GESI Gen 2 400 cell cats are unavailable practically speaking. I waited 12 weeks and ended up cancelling my order.