IW STi Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
204 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone from East Tennessee! New STi owner as of last night. I'm calling it Turbine, I know, I know, very original, but whatever, I like the way it sounds. I also think that people that don't name their car are strange, just me... Thanks to everyone helping convince me to jump after this car (Good deal or walk away?) I'm new to Turbo's, not new to Subaru's. My name is Chris and I'm a Mechanical Designer working for the DOE at the moment. I'm a total noob to these cars, and I'll appreciate anyone's and everyone's thoughts and opinions. So much so, that last night I tried backing it in to my garage, I literally had to take out the owners manual to figure it out. I've always wondered why these shift knobs looked the way they do. It's ok to laugh at my expense, you were once a newbie as well.

Today will be the first time I will have seen it in daylight. But I can say it looks damn near new on the inside. With the exception of a horrible head unit, that will come out eventually. I'd rather listen to the engine anyways. And I haven't had it above 4,500 RPM, yet. I just wanted it to get home safely.

We drove it 4 hours home last night with a smile on my face the whole time. When my wife drove it (I was following in our truck) I laughed my ass off every time some one tried to pass her, I heard that deep rumble and she was gone. Literally laughing out loud, because I know she had a smile on her face. :)

The car is throwing 2 codes, P0502 & P0851, I haven't looked into them yet, and I will, but the car is cat-less, so I know that's one reason my check engine light is on. Sorry for the crap pic, uploading images from a government computer can be challenging. It will be getting a bath, clay bar, and a wax this Saturday. I don't think it's ever been waxed, poor thing. In our possession this car will be loved.

More to come.

·
Super Moderator
10,691 Posts