IW STi Forum banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have a 2014 STI with 50k on the motor and it just blew. I just had GCH longblocks start my stage one longblock and need to know what else I'll need to hit the 500+ HP area. They said the longblock will handle around 620HP. What should I look for and what would I need to do to make that 500+ HP mark. Any help would be amazing. I'm new to the flat 4 world but have a good understanding of what it really takes to make good HP in the tuning world.

·
Registered
549 Posts
what is the "stage 1" setup in their motor. i'd HIGHLY suggest going closed deck if GCH does it, i'm not at all familiar with their blocks. but most companies say the engine can handle 620, which means crankshaft power, it'll be less when going to the wheels, so 620 is approx 480whp accounting for roughly 22% drivetrain loss. that said, they may have enough in their longblocks that it will handle 620whp, which is why i ask what exactly it comes with.

the heads on the STi will be the weak point, specifically the valves/springs when running more than 24psi, so i'd make sure those are upgraded as well. they are actually pretty cheap to do vs the stock valves/springs.

there are quite a few different turbos that will get you there. do you plan to/have the budget to go rotated? if you do, i'd highly suggest that because the oem type housing on subarus is restrictive.

while you can make 500 on pump gas, it will be laggy, if you have e85 available set the car up to run e85/flex fuel.

and most importantly, what do you want to do with that 500, are you racing at all? if so what type of racing? or are you looking for just a fun street car?