IW STi Forum banner

Ultimate Guide to Subaru Shift Knobs + Test Results!

Interior 
48K views 39 replies 18 participants last post by  AK06WRX 
#1 · (Edited)
This thread is going to be a collection of all the shift knob information I have gathered over the past few years. I want others to add to it also, pics, dimensions, weight, reviews, etc.

THE TEST:
To test 2 types of threads on Polymer (Copolymer/Delrin) shift knobs. See which one is the strongest.

THE PROBLEM:

Simply put, metal shift knobs get hot in the summer, cold in the winter. Although I have many solutions for this, from knob protector booties to wrapped knobs, one good solution is to use a different material. I have been producing the Copolymer shift knobs for some 2 years now. Here is a brief description of the material:

ACETAL COPOLYMER is very similar to ACETAL HOMOPOLYMER (trade name: Delrin, by the DuPont company). Both of these materials have physical properties within 10% of eachother. For example, Copolymer has a compressive strength of 15K psi, while Delrin is 16K psi. Copolymer has a better chemical resistance than Delrin, and slightly less porosity, meaning it has a more consistent appearance. Overall, there is not much of a difference here, especially when considering the use of a shift knob, so we can consider the two materials equal.

The main problem with Polymers is that they are basically strong plastics. Plastic threads tend to get messed up easily compared to metal threads. Cross-threading during installation or stripping during hard use are two common issues myself and my early customers faced when I make copolymer knobs with threads cut directly into the polymer.