New crankshaft? - Subaru Impreza WRX STI Forums: IWSTI.com
STI Forum
Join
Start New Thread Create Account Advertise FAQ Members List Contact
New crankshaft?
New crankshaft?
Go Back   STI Forums > > > New crankshaft?

Old 02-27-09, 06:16 AM   #1
chchart
Becoming A Contributor
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Car: Blue 05 S203
Fav Mod: Cosworth EJ25
My Threads
My Subaru Parts for sale

chchart is an unknown quantity at this point
Default New crankshaft?

First off I am a noob and have little mechanical experience. Some explanations in this thread may not be the right technical terms but I will try to explain my situation as best I can.

I have a 2005 S203 (JDM) bought used last year. The previous owner had the following mods installed:
Cosworth Longblock with all Cosworth internals except for the stock STI crankshaft
Cosworth High Volume Oil Pump
APS S/R 57 Turbo
APS FMIC
APS 70mm intake
APS Headers
APS Fuel rails with Deatschwerks 850cc injectors
Process West Oil Cooler
Ecutek tuned for Gasohol (E20) 95 octane

I was having some oil pressure problems (I have another thread about this) and could not find the source of the problem. So I decided to take out the engine and take a look inside. The engine is only 1 year old (8,000 miles) but with about 10 track days.
When we opened up the engine we saw alot of "burnt oil residue" around the engine block. The pistons and rods were fine. There was also alot of "grayish color" residue on the valves and spark plug head. The valves themselves were fine except for this residue that was subsequently cleaned off.
The mechanic suspected the following:
1) There was insufficient oil to the engine which may have caused the oil to be burnt and residue. This may be due to running the car hard with not enough oil in the engine. Oops.
2) The residue on the valves and spark plug may be due to the Ethanol content in the Gasohol.