Lazer 100
Active Participant
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Fav Mod: Coming Soon
My Threads
My Subaru Parts for sale

Lazer 100 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Questions From a New STI Owner

First of all, hello to all! This is my first post here as I just got a 2017 STI about a month ago. I’m really enjoying it, but have a few questions. I should preface this by saying I have very little experience driving AWD cars (all Haldex) and zero experience driving Subaru’s symmetrical AWD. I have a decent amount of experience tracking previous cars and have had this car to 1 track day and 3 autocrosses so far. I quickly realized that I needed a sway bar and some good brake pads/fluid to make it feel almost as small as my last track car, which has worked pretty well. One thing that is driving me nuts though, is that I’ve been trying to reap the benefits of throwing it into a corner, getting it to rotate, and stabbing the throttle without getting any wheel spin (unlike my last car, which had wheel spin all day), but I’m getting this weird sort of wheel hop from the front tires at low speed corner exit under full throttle, which makes me feel like I’m hurting/damaging something. I know the helical diff in the front has been described as “grabby” but I’d prefer to not replace any halfshafts or CV joints anytime soon. Is this normal? Also, I haven’t really messed with the center diff settings all that much. Would setting it on manual with a few “-“ clicks maybe phase this out. Any help would be appreciated.
Likes 0 Dislikes 0

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-16-19, 09:15 PM   #2
[email protected]
Authorized Vendor

Car: 2011 STI Sedan
Fav Mod: Arcflash LLC Ohlins Coilovers
My Threads
My Subaru Parts for sale

joshua@arcflashllc is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Questions From a New STI Owner

What settings are you running the center diff on? I'd keep it on auto. If you manually lock the center diff it really hurts turn in.