Contemplating a new project - Building an Engine - Subaru Impreza WRX STI Forums: IWSTI.com
STI Forum
Join
Start New Thread Create Account Advertise FAQ Members List Contact
Contemplating a new project - Building an Engine
Contemplating a new project - Building an Engine
Go Back   STI Forums > > > Contemplating a new project - Building an Engine

Old 08-06-19, 05:48 AM   #1
Soltis187
Platinum Member
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Car: PBP 2014 STI
Fav Mod: Heavy Right Foot
My Threads
My Subaru Parts for sale

Soltis187 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Contemplating a new project - Building an Engine

I've never built an engine before but I'm fairly technically inclined. I work in the precision machining industry and know a fair bit about measuring, tolerances, blueprints, and generally good mechanical practices. I also used to work on aircraft in the Air Force. So I have fairly good knowledge of how technicians should perform work.

I'm considering building an EJ25 from scratch. I'd like to start with a bare block and just work at my own pace. Are there any obvious markings I should look for or look to avoid when choosing a block? I know the difference between an open and a closed deck. Wondering if there was some nuance that I should keep in mind.

I'm sure I'll have additional questions as I go and I'll try to keep in all in this thread.

Thanks
Likes 0 Dislikes 0

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-19, 07:37 AM   #2
Leemanfor
Master Contributor Level 2

Fav Mod: EFR 7163 Turbo
My Threads
My Subaru Parts for sale

Leemanfor has a spectacular aura aboutLeemanfor has a spectacular aura aboutLeemanfor has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: Contemplating a new project - Building an Engine

awesome idea. if you like putting stuff together, building an engine is one of the most rewarding...ableit frustrating and stressful, things you can do on a car. Once you do this, everything else in cars feels easy. (Maybe minus rebuilding a transmission. )