IW STi Forum banner

Knocking at 1000mi after build

3K views 15 replies 9 participants last post by  rjackel 
#1 ·
Simple question. Sorry I am not a mechanic, dont pretend to be. Im stuck with a fresh built 2005 STI it had 20k miles on a rebuilt engine when the ringland #2 went. Had the block machined, Wiseco 8.5 pistons, 08 STI rods, and ACL race bearings installed.

1000 miles during break in (NO boost, 2 oil changes) it started acting funny around 2000 rpm, so I shut it off. Didnt touch it for a day, started it up the next day and it was knocking (wasnt making any noise initially). It has only ran for not even 30 seconds making that sound.

Builder doesnt have time to help me fix the problem, not trying to throw a lot more money at this car taking it to a shop, kinda just want to cut my losses at this time, but I was to control those losses.

Builder says putting in the wrong oil will cause it to spin a bearing and knock. I dont know enough about this (my fault) to say this is the problem..but I believe hes right.

So my question is simple : Would putting in 5w40 Rotella t6 for break in cause it to spin a bearing? He says thats too thick and wont give the bearings proper lubrication.

Thanks for any help, Im a painter/ fabricator so engine work is totally new to me and not something I was looking for.

See less See more
#3 ·
I call BS on the builder. 5w40 should not have caused that. Improper installation/build error. Either the block wasnt cleaned right or the clearances were all wrong. Do an oil analysis unless you already changed the oil then it is too late. That will tell you whats going on and what failed inside. After that the only thing you can do is bring it to another shop and have them tear it down. If they find improper clearances or build errors then you will know what happened and can try and go after the shop.

You can sell the car as is but will probably take the same amount of loss as you would putting a new shortblock in so its up to you.

#4 ·