IW STi Forum banner

Did I make a huge mistake?

Thoughts/Review/Comparison 
2K views 11 replies 10 participants last post by  enoxard 
#1 ·
I just bought a 2007 WRX STI Limited. I was torn between the 04-07 Subaru and the 08+ Mitsubishi Evolution X GSR. I am now regretting my decision. It seems that just about every mod can cause the engine to grenade. Simple things like an intake can cause the computer to lean out and detonate. The engine as a whole seems to be much weaker than either the 4b11 or the 4g63. It also seems that the Evo is a better handling car. So far I have purchased a Cobb Accessport and I'm running the stage 1 map. Afraid to do anything else at this point. Overall I really like the car I just feel like it will be more costly in the long run to make this thing perform well. (i.e. 400awhp and handling). This is mainly a street car with the occasional AutoX on the weekends. I have a Honda Accord for a daily driver. Did I make a huge mistake buying this car? I'm a noob so please feel free to school me on anything.

#2 ·
Both are on par in handling and performance, one does it mechanically and the other does it electronically. Professional GT500 drivers clocked both cars around track at very similar lap times and quarter mile is similar too, question is how good are your driving skills. Most review and people comment the EVO as better handling because the AYC and ACD does help correct driver's errors as well as making the EVO X a more point and click car, steer where you wanna go and throttle on. It is the easier car to drive faster among the two, the sti is just a raw awd with mechanical diffs. Pick your poison.

Reliability wise, it's blown out of proportion in terms of engine failure. The 4B11 will grenade all the same if u mod it without tuning it.

Maintenance wise, the sti is definitely cheaper as all fluids use are easily available. The AYC of the Mitsubishi iirc requires proprietary fluid but I could be wrong.